Chesuncook Boomhouse Interior
Chuck Harris (our museum curator) has been working hard renovating and furnishing the Chesuncook Boomhouse.
The Chesuncook Boom or Boarding House sits on a high point of land at the place where Chesuncook Lake meets the western extremity of Ripegenous Lake. This is the site of the original Chesuncook Dam. There are outstanding views of the back side of the Katahdin Range and the length of Chesuncook Lake. The area has a rich history of dam building and movement of wood in both long log and four foot bolts over many years. The boarding House is a frame building two stories high. Originally equipped with electrical generation, steam heat, a horse barn, it had sleeping accommodations for 24 men and was built in about 1916. It currently is in the process of being Restored.